Chinese Wall (Boxcar Rocks)

Chinese Wall

I have long heard of the Chinese Wall, one of Pennsylvania’s most impressive geological formations.  It is a long, narrow outcropping of conglomerate that resembles a wall.  Google satellite shows the formation extends for over a mile.  It is very popular with rock climbers.

I drove up on a misty day, which actually was better for taking pictures.  The trees faded into the mist, and a strong breeze swept over the rocks.  The formation is also known as Boxcar Rocks, for a series of rocks separated by narrow crevices, resembling boxcars of a train.  Moss and especially lichens covered many rocks.

I found the rugged parking area off of Gold Mine Road in SGL 211.  I followed the gated road for about a quarter mile, and turned right onto an obvious, unblazed trail into a scenic, mysterious pine forest that was shrouded with mist.  I soon reached the formation.  Unofficial trails snake around the massive wall.

Impressive

I decided to scramble near the top of one of the formations.  I crawled through a crevice and walked among the canopy of the blooming trees.  I then scrambled to the top, wedging my feet in the cracks.  I had to be careful since the rock was a little slick.  I reached the top to see waves of mist flowing over the wall.

Near the top

I scrambled back down and explored some more windows, crevices, and passageways between the rocks.  Even though it is a short hike, the Chinese Wall is one of the most interesting sights in the state.

For more pictures, click here.

 

3 thoughts on “Chinese Wall (Boxcar Rocks)

  1. My ‘go to’ space. 44,000 acre Stony Valley/SGL 211. From the swamp west the fire tower, Devils Racecourse/Rattlin’Run, Stone Tower, AT, Yellow Spring incline, The General, Sawmill, Cold Spring(among others), Stony Creek, the rail trail, Rausch Creek, Goldmine Run, Black Spring Trail, several ponds, Evening Run, “The Wall”, Lebanon Reservoir, bear, rattlers, copperheads, Bald Eagles, to Jeff’s Swamp and beyond; St Anthony’s Wilderness has one flaw…Fort Indiantown Gap artillery practice including A-10 aircraft strafing. Enjoy this look to the west:

Leave a Reply

