Bar Bottom Hollow Waterfalls-Loyalsock State Forest

41525722312_95ec34796a_z.jpg

Bar Bottom Falls, Loyalsock State Forest

Bar Bottom Hollow is one of the Loyalsock State Forest’s hidden gems, a deep gorge filled with beautiful waterfalls.  The hollow is located just to the east of Jacoby Falls, although the two are not connected by a trail.  I first hiked to the hollow a few years ago and this old post will help you navigate.

IMG_20180417_120513_263

I parked at Dad Dad Chapman Road and simply walked the road to a spruce forest and logged area, where I took an obvious grade to the right for a mile.  This grade descended and right before reaching some pine trees and laurel, I turned right for a quick off trail hike. I soon intercepted an old grade (red on the map below, all trails and grades are unblazed) and crossed the creek.  This red route is the most scenic entrance into the hollow; I did not follow it on my prior trip to the hollow, which is linked to the old post above.

IMG_20180417_160952_191

The red grade followed the creek downstream and soon passed a multi-tiered fifteen foot falls over mossy ledges.  I was able to go behind the falls, under the ledges.

20180416_155028

The grade continued, staying above the gorge.  I could hear a second falls deep in the gorge, but it was out of sight.  It is a 10-12 foot falls in a grotto with many tumbling springs, a beautiful sight.  The grade climbed through some laurel, descended to a sidestream, crossed it, and then descended along the small sidestream into a glen with small cascades.  It soon returned to the creek with more rapids and cascades.

IMG_20180416_223002_410

The glen continued downstream passing large mossy boulders and hemlocks.  It crossed the creek and continued with views of rapids, slides, and hemlocks.  I enjoyed a 12 foot slide falls and just downstream was Bar Bottom Falls, a stunning 20-25 foot falls in a grotto, with a second falls joining from a side stream.  The orange grade on the map joins the red grade near this falls.

IMG_20180416_222438_159

The beauty of this gorge with its waterfalls and mossy ledges is hard to describe.  Bar Bottom Falls is just so beautiful.

20180416_155649

There are more waterfalls downstream and the grade provides easy access.  However, due to rain and fading daylight, I did not venture any further than Bar Bottom Falls.

IMG_20180416_221747_356

Be sure to spend some time exploring Bar Bottom Hollow, it is a place you will not soon forget.

More photos.

IMG_0036

The red grade on the map is the most scenic.  Unfortunately, at its northern end it fades into laurel right before the orange grade, but this laurel is easy to bypass.

8 thoughts on “Bar Bottom Hollow Waterfalls-Loyalsock State Forest

  1. I checked it out today and was amazed beyond words. Easily one of my favorite hikes I’ve done in the Endless Mountains.

    I also discovered a pretty robust trail network on top of Cove Mountain that isn’t mapped but has blazed trails. Near the cabin, actually.

    I’ll likely return in the fall when the road is open and try to catch some Brook Trout and enjoy the waterfalls.

      • There’s also another small moss covered waterfall in northern tributary that I found. not far from where the two branches converge.

    • Did the fishing seem good in Bar Bottom Hollow? I know the state has it listed as a Class A stream, but it seems like the waterfalls would limit the ability of trout to proliferate upstream. I’m interested in checking this out in about two weeks and am definitely interested in fishing there.

      • It seems to be good, some nice pools and fallen logs. Water quality looks very good. I saw some trout when I hiked there two years ago. On this hike the water was high and I didn’t notice any.

      • I saw quite a few brookies swimming upstream away from me so I’d definitely say so. Plus a bunch of hatchlings. Brookies have this amazing ability to traverse waterfalls that brown and rainbow trout seem to lack, so in Georgia where I live outside of semesters, I find them above waterfalls.

Leave a comment