Hiking Dewdrop Run-Allegheny National Forest

42871134315_1061af68be_z.jpg

Dewdrop Run flowing under massive boulders, Allegheny National Forest.

Dewdrop Run is one of the Allegheny National Forest’s best kept secrets, hiding next to one of its most popular campgrounds- Dewdrop Campground. Years ago, the Campbell Mill Loop Interpretive Trail explored Dewdrop Run. For some reason, it was rarely hiked and eventually abandoned despite its superb scenery. I explored Dewdrop Run while writing Hiking the Allegheny National Forest and the place has always stuck with me. I decided it was time to return.

IMG_20180724_162245_904

I parked along the road, just downhill from the entrance to the Dewdrop Campground. Faced with an overgrown meadow, I entered the beech woods and descended a slope to a more open forest. I crossed a sidestream and followed the old, intermittent white diamond blazes of the former Campbell Mill trail. I walked upstream and made my way down to Dewdrop Run. There was no real sign of the old trail. I came across a maze of giant, mossy boulders embedded in the water, creating scenic waterfalls and a small, green grotto. Pools glistened in the fading sunlight as insects danced on the surface. In places it felt as if I were in Oregon or Washington with the unbelievable greenery.

20180722_115143

I then reached an amazing spot-where the creek flowed under massive, house sized boulders cloaked in deep green moss. Absolutely beautiful. I tried to follow the old trail, as it explored more mossy boulders. It turned right, passing between the green monoliths, and then began to climb. I, however, went off the former trail and simply hiked upstream to a beautiful series of cascades and deep pools framed by mossy, sculpted boulders.

20180722_121222

I pushed onward, up into the gorge. Steep slopes and giant boulders loomed over Dewdrop Run. It felt like a hidden, primeval world even though I was less than a half mile from the road. The creek bounced over scenic cascades and small waterfall within a deep, lime green forest.

IMG_20180724_161454_355

I turned around and walked back down the creek, enjoying the scenery again. I retraced my steps back to my car. Park off the road at about 41.826653, -78.968353.

20180722_111321

For adventurous hikers, the north slope of Dewdrop Run’s gorge features massive boulders and rock outcrops that are worth exploring. Hopefully, a hiking trail will return to Dewdrop Run, it is such a beautiful place. Until then, don’t let the lack of an official trail deter you, explore this hidden gem.

More photos.

IMG_0050.PNG

Leave a comment