East Branch and Canyon Vista Loop-Worlds End State Park

IMG_20181123_180831_666_resized.jpg

Warren’s Window, Worlds End State Park

Worlds End State Park is a hiking wonderland with a vast network of high quality trails that explore vistas, waterfalls, gorges, and large rocks. This system of trails is steadily expanding with the addition of a new trail-the yellow blazed East Branch Trail which explores the slope above the East Branch of Double Run. This trail allows hikers in the state park to access Mineral Spring and Mineral Spring Falls on a loop.

I decided to check out this new trail. I parked at the lot for the Double Run Nature Trail and the Chapel. I followed the nature trail above Double Run, a beautiful creek with its slides and cascades that swirl into bedrock pools. I crossed a footbridge over the East Branch of Double Run. Hikers can continue on the nature trail up to scenic Cottonwood Falls and a variety of other waterfalls. If you take this excursion, you will need to retrace your steps to hike this loop.

IMG_0112.PNG

I noticed the yellow blazes of the East Branch Trail and followed it. The trail actually went upstream along the West Branch of Double Run for a little ways and then curved left onto an old grade that climbed above the East Branch. I passed a small side stream with a cascade (a falls and grotto is further up). The grade stayed above the creek, but offered good views of it with the leaves off. To my right, I saw imposing boulders and rock outcrops. The trail soon met with the Loyalsock Trail, where I turned left and descended to the East Branch in a hemlock forest. A bridge does not cross this beautiful creek, so rock hop as best you can. The orange Mineral Spring is right there on the trail and has a sulphurous smell. I climbed the trail to the road and enjoyed the view of Mineral Spring Falls as it slid down into a gorge.

The LT climbed along the creek with more cascades and then turned left onto an old grade that explored a stately hardwood forest. Large boulders were off to my right. I reached the park road and crossed it to Canyon Vista with excellent views of the 800 foot deep gorge. I then turned left onto the blue Canyon Vista Trail. This trail descended; keep an eye out for a short side trail that leads to a view of a unique rock column.

The trail kept a steady descent, but leveled off. I continued right on the Canyon Vista Trail as it explored scenic woodlands and took me through a mini-rock maze. Right after that was the second view of the hike, Warren’s Window. This view is further down into the gorge, but is still very beautiful as it shows the steep terrain surrounding the park. The view is named after Warren Renninger who has volunteered countless hours building and maintaining hiking trails in and around Worlds End. His trails are beautifully routed, well built, and provide great scenery. I reached the LT again and turned left as it descended over rocky, rugged terrain under hemlocks. I crossed the road and continued on the trail until it reached Double Run Nature Trail, on which I turned right and retraced my steps. This is a great 3.5 mile loop that offers views, big rocks, and waterfalls.

Parking is at 41.465857, -76.578608.

Leave a comment